Feeling stimulated … sort of

March 14, 2009 at 12:57 am 1 comment

I received a whopping $30 more in my paycheck today thanks to a tax break from the economic stimulus package. WOO HOO!

Granted, this is less than half of my monthly cable bill, about two percent of my rent and $5 short of a monthly supply of my allergy medication. But hey, who wants to look at money in terms of actual purchases? $30 could also get me, oh, six boxes of Chips Ahoy cookies, 15 bottles of that not-half-bad $2 Trader Joe’s wine, or 30 rolls of sushi at my favorite Asian restaurant’s $1.00 per roll happy hour special. Put in those terms, my economic stimulus earnings don’t appear half bad.

Of course, today, I didn’t end up spending that $30 on any of the above. I saved it (I’m really sorry, Congress, I just don’t feel like stimulating the economy right now with my own money). But at least I know that after one really bad day of work, I can get 15 bottles of wine and not feel one twinge of guilt. Well, at least not any guilt about the money I spent …

Entry filed under: Quirk.

Online tools for transparency Why are “public interest” events so ineffective? (Or: How we can learn from Powershift09)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. John Mesoloras  |  March 16, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Nothing like 2 buck chuck! Nice Blog BTW 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


