Shocking revelation: Exercising for free burns as many calories as a gym fee!

April 22, 2009 at 8:44 pm 1 comment

Ever since the economy started going down the tubes, newspapers began running stories of how people are saving money – except the money-saving examples spoke more of extravagance than penny-pinching.

Such-and-such family forgoes FIVE cars for just one. Such-and-such person who made $90K a year decides taking multiple exotic vacations in one year actually isn’t living within one’s means.

I shouldn’t be so surprised at this. After all, there’s got to be a few reasons why credit card debt is such a problem, right?

However, I read a Wall Street Journal article this morning that sparked my annoyance at this trend.

Titled “Lean Times Bring Workouts,” the reporter details how many people have discovered that paying money for a gym membership isn’t as necessary as they originally thought – and that they can actually burn calories for free at home. What a deal!

Is this seriously a new revelation? Granted, I’m not a gym rat, but I do like to keep myself healthy and reduce the chances of waking up one morning and realizing I can’t fit into half my pants. Of course, working for a nonprofit and paying high D.C. rent prices, I’d prefer to save my money, and instead take the stairs, walk everywhere and do pilates in my living room.

I haven’t really thought of this decision as a sacrifice – though I suppose I don’t get state-of-the-art treadmills, workout instructors and plasma TV screens to keep me occupied while exercising. But I can proudly say that I still fit into my pants (always a plus), and that doing pilates in my living room burns just as many calories as paying $150 a month to do it in a gym. The same goes for running or walking on a sidewalk.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against those who go to the gym. And if the Wall Street Journal comes out with an article that proves that exercising for a fee burns more calories than exercising for free, I’ll see you there.

Entry filed under: Quirk. Tags: , , , , , .

On lobbying and transparency My take on the Facebook Causes/WaPo buzz

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mrred  |  April 23, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


