Does D.C. have housewives? Bravo thinks so.

May 27, 2009 at 9:36 pm Leave a comment

It wasn’t my intention to become a reality TV blogger when I started “Politics and Quirk.” But I’m already one post into the subject and about to embark upon a second.

I blame Bravo.

Earlier this week, DCist broke the news that the network was pursuing another extension of their “Real Housewives” project, this time focusing on the District.

Before I go any further, I’ll take a silent pause to let any and all District residents get out their screams, sighs and other expressions of terror.

**Silent pause.**

OK, back to “The Real Housewives of D.C.” I have mixed feelings about Bravo as a TV network. I readily admit that after coming home from a day at work, I find myself tuning in to one of their programs that mixes drama, artistic flair and drama. LOTS of drama. I also understand why they launched the first installment of the “Real Housewives” series, “The Real Housewives of Orange County.” As a response to the popular show “Desperate Housewives,” the plot (dare I say it) actually made some sort of sense. After all, these women were the real deal. Like them or not, they were housewives. And, coming from Orange County, the fact they had money seemed natural.

Then the series started branching out to other cities – New York, Atlanta, and the latest and gaudiest installment, New Jersey. The original premise for the series becomes less and less valid with each new region. Sure, there ARE women out there in each of these regions that have money, but you can’t call these women “real housewives.” Besides, some of the women on the show don’t even qualify for the dictionary definition of a “housewife.”

Which brings us to the District and the question: “Are there really housewives in D.C.?” OK, obviously there are some. But D.C. is a pretty career- and power-hungry place. Balancing work and family life isn’t always an option so much as it is surviving the combination of both. Where is Bravo going to find a bunch of women – a bunch of housewives – that will accurately represent this place?

One possibility is that the producers will concentrate on the nearby and very wealthy Maryland and Virginia ‘burbs. (“The Real Housewives of Fairfax and Bethesda,” anyone?). But, of course, Fairfax and Bethesda aren’t D.C. (Something of which I am very glad.)

Personally, I’d love to see “The Real Housewives of Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan,” but something tells me the producers would think this group would be a bit too “normal.”

Do I want to watch a show that portrays D.C. inaccurately? Or, perhaps more importantly, do I want to watch a show that portrays D.C. accurately?

I think I’ll just read Ana Marie Cox’s Twitter feed to get my daily D.C. dish instead.

Entry filed under: Quirk. Tags: , , , , .

Why I love Craigslist (and why I wish I knew it existed during grade school) Facebook Causes and WaPo take two

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


